Chester FC Awards Evening 2023/24 – Recap

    Last night, the Chester FC Awards Evening 2023/24, sponsored by MBNA, took place at Chester Racecourse!

    Hosted by Steve Bower, 12 awards were handed out. We kicked off with the Women’s Development Player of the Season, which was presented by Assistant Manager Sarah Gill to the winner – Katie Kelso.

    Next up, Director Steve Jones awarded the Academy Player of the Season to goalkeeper Billy Davies, before Community Trust CEO Jim Green presented the Community Award to the Chester FC Women’s Team for their progress this year.

    Women’s Captain Molly Wood took to the stage next, to present the Players’ Player of the Season to Kim Sands.

    The Gary Talbot Golden Boot was sponsored by Complete Security Service, and Jim McGrath announced the winner as George Glendon for his 13 goals this campaign. George wasn’t there on the night, but did send a video message, the award was collected by Assistant Manager Colin Woodthorpe.

    Director Ollie Hill then came to the stage to announce Wyll Stanway as the Away Travel Player of the Season. Wyll was also not present, so his dad Paul collected the award on his behalf.

    Goal of the Season went to Reece Daly for his stunning effort against Peterborough Sports, which was announced and presented by CFU Chair Kieron Shiel.

    Women’s Manager Martin Fitzsimons came up next to talk about the progress his side have made this campaign, before awarding the Manager’s Player of the Season to Sarah Redman.

    Men’s Players’ Player of the Season went to Harrison Burke. Harrison wasn’t there on the evening, so Iwan Murray went up and provided a great speech on why he and others in the group voted for Harrison.

    General Manager Albert Davies went up next to announce that the club would not be awarding a Clubperson of the Year for 2023/24, instead confirming that from next year and forevermore it will be renamed The Barrie Hipkiss Award, in honour of our late Club President.

    All in attendance raised a glass in Barrie’s memory.

    Our final two awards were the CFU Men’s and Women’s Player of the Season. These were presented by Brian Green, the Head of Credit Card Product Development & Acquisition for MBNA.

    Molly Wood won the Women’s award, after an incredible season in which she scored 40 goals.

    Harrison Burke was announced as Men’s Player of the Season for his superb individual campaign. In his absence, Manager Calum McIntyre collected the award on his behalf and looked ahead to next season.

    A big thank you to all who attended the night, and also Rick Matthews for providing all the above photographs!