The finalists in the player categories for the 2017 Northwest Football Awards have been announced, as the awards mark its tenth year of recognising the good, the great and the un-sung of the beautiful game in the region.

    In the Premier League Player of the Year category, Liverpool’s Sadio Mane and Manchester City’s David Silva will compete with other finalists Tom Davies of Everton, Burnley’s Tom Heaton and Manchester United’s Ander Herrera.

    In the Championship category, Blackburn’s Derrick Williams goes up against Ben Pearson of Preston North End and Dan Burn of Wigan Athletic.

    In League One, Fleetwood Town’s Cian Bolger takes on Oldham’s Peter Clark, Callum Camps of Rochdale and Bolton Wanderers’ David Wheater.
    For League Two, the finalists see Carlisle United’s midfielder, Nicky Adams, shortlisted alongside Michael Rose of Morecambe, Blackpool’s Kelvin Mellor and Accrington Stanley’s Sean McConville.

    And the shortlist for the player of the year for the National League is made up of Ryan Astles of Chester, Andy Cook of Tranmere Rovers, Barrow’s Moussa Diarra and Macclesfield’s George Pilkington.

    In the fiercely competitive rising star category, Alan Browne of Preston North End, Mitch Hancox of Macclesfield Town and Ben Tollitt of Tranmere Rovers will go head-to-head with Trent Alexander-Arnold of Liverpool, Manchester City’s Phil Foden and Angel Gomes of Manchester United.

    The Fine Bedding Company Women’s Player of the Year finalists are Jamie Lee McDowell of Chester, Everton’s Gabby George, Caroline Weir of Liverpool and Manchester City’s Lucy Bronze, who has recently signed for Lyon.

    In the women’s rising star category, the shortlist consists of Niamh Charles of Liverpool Ladies, Megan Finnigan of Everton Ladies, Chester’s Becky Tebb and Manchester City’s Keira Walsh.
    The finalists in the inaugural best Fan TV Channel – a new category recognising the popularity of the fan-led social media movement – are FullTimeDevils (Manchester United fans), BlueMoonRisingTV (Man City fans), TheRedmenTV (Liverpool fans) and Toffee TV (Everton fans).

    Laura Wolfe, managing director of Wolfesport and the Northwest Football Awards said:  “It’s been another very strong year in the North West footballing world, from non-league right the way through to some of the biggest and most famous clubs on the planet.

    “We are really proud of the clubs, people and organisations in our region that are truly leading the way and setting an example for the rest of the UK, across both the men’s and women’s game.

    “The Northwest Football Awards turns 10 this year and has grown in popularity and influence year-on-year, due to its inclusive approach to the game in the region – and we are delighted to celebrate this milestone year for the awards, too.”

    All awards will be announced and presented at the Northwest Football Awards at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, 13th November, hosted by the BBC’s Dan Walker.

    For more information, please visit:


    Rising Star of the Year

    • Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool Football Club
    • Alan Browne – Preston North End Football Club
    • Phil Foden – Manchester City Football Club
    • Angel Gomes – Manchester United Football Club
    • Mitch Hancox – Macclesfield Town Football Club
    • Ben Tollitt – Tranmere Rovers Football Club

    Women’s Rising Star of the Year

    • Niamh Charles – Liverpool Ladies
    • Megan Finnigan – Everton Ladies
    • Becky Tebb – Chester Football Club Women
    • Keira Walsh – Manchester City Women’s Football Club

    Player of the Year – National League

    • Ryan Astles – Chester Football Club
    • Andy Cook – Tranmere Rovers Football Club
    • Moussa Diarra – Barrow Association Football Club
    • George Pilkington – Macclesfield Town Football Club

    Player of the Year – League Two

    • Nicky Adams – Carlisle United Football Club
    • Sean McConville – Accrington Stanley Football Club
    • Kelvin Mellor – Blackpool Football Club
    • Michael Rose – Morecambe Football Club

    Player of the Year – League One

    • Cian Bolger – Fleetwood Town Football Club
    • Callum Camps – Rochdale Association Football Club
    • Peter Clarke – Oldham Athletic Association Football Club
    • David Wheater – Bolton Wanderers Football Club

    Player of the Year – Championship

    • Dan Burn – Wigan Athletic Football Club
    • Ben Pearson – Preston North End Football Club
    • Derrick Williams – Blackburn Rovers Football Club

    Player of the Year – Premier League

    • Tom Davies – Everton Football Club
    • Tom Heaton – Burnley Football Club
    • Ander Herrera – Manchester United Football Club
    • Sadio Mané – Liverpool Football Club
    • David Silva – Manchester City Football Club

    The Fine Bedding Company Women’s Player of the Year

    • Lucy Bronze – Manchester City Women’s Football Club
    • Gabby George – Everton Ladies
    • Jamie Lee McDowell – Chester Football Club Women
    • Caroline Weir – Liverpool Ladies

    FAN TV Channel of the Year

    • BlueMoonRisingTV
    • Full Time DEVILS
    • The Redmen TV
    • Toffee TV

    Best Club Marketing, Sponsorship & Engagement

    • Everton Football Club – 2017/18 Season Ticket Campaign – One For All/All For One
    • Everton Football Club / IWF / KENYONS – See it Report it
    • Macclesfield Town Football Club – ‘We’re Going!’
    • Preston North End Football Club’s Generation Deepdale Campaign: Season Tickets 2017

    Business and Professional Services to Football

    • Playmaker
    • Professional Football Scouts Association
    • Stream AMG – Media Platform

    Kick It Out Promoting Inclusion Award

    • Ashton Town AFC- Gordon Johnson
    • Cerebral Palsy United Football Club
    • Everton Football Club and Everton in the Community – Positively Promoting Equality and Diversity
    • Everycolour
    • Wigan Athletic Football Club – Together

    Unsung Hero

    • Gordon Lawton, Oldham Athletic Football Club
    • The Inspired and Inspirational Lee, Everton Football Club

    Fabrice Muamaba Award for Outstanding Service to Football Medicine and Science

    • Alisdair Beattie, Burnley Football Club
    • Dr Ian Irvin, Everton Football Club
    • Grant Downie, Manchester City Academy Football Club

    Manager of the Year

    • Gary Bowyer, Blackpool Football Club
    • José Mourinho, Manchester United Football Club
    • Phil Parkinson, Bolton Wanderers Football Club

    Football Journalist of the Year

    • Alice McKeegan, Manchester Evening News
    • Daniel Taylor, The Guardian
    • Mike Keegan, The Daily Mail
    • Sarah Collins, BBC Radio Manchester

    Community Club of the Year – Premier League

    • Burnley Football Club in the Community
    • Everton in the Community
    • Liverpool Football Club
    • Manchester City Football Club / City in the Community Foundation

    Community Club of the Year – All other Leagues

    • Blackburn Rovers Community Trust
    • Preston North End Community and Education Trust
    • Tranmere Rovers in the Community
    • Wigan Athletic Community Trust

    Community Initiative of the Year

    • Bolton Wanderers Community Trust – Positive Chances
    • Everton in the Community – Imagine your Goals
    • Manchester City Football Club / City in the Community– City Health
    • Wigan Athletic Community Trust – 12th Man Health Champions

    About Northwest Football Awards

    The Northwest Football Awards (NWFA) celebrates the region’s footballing elite and pays tribute to those who have achieved footballing excellence both on and off the field in the 2016/17 season. The Northwest Football Awards recognises football excellence from the Male and Women’s football leagues from Conference though to Premier League. More at