“On the road again” in 2017/18

    Who will the Blues face next season?

    Chester FC fans will be ready once again to travel the length and breadth of the country during the 2017/18 National League campaign – with the addition of six different teams after last season’s promotions and relegations.
    Next season’s fixtures are expected to be announced early next month – and Jon McCarthy’s second campaign in charge of the Blues is not too far away.
    Teams who will be facing us following their relegation from Sky Bet League Two will be Leyton Orient and Hartlepool United.
    The Orient make their first appearance in non-league football, ending their 112-year association with the Football League. For Craig Harrison’s side, they drop down into the National League after a 96-year stay in the top four tiers.
    Promoted from the National League North were champions AFC Fylde, followed by promotion final winners FC Halifax Town – who make an immediate return to the fifth tier after relegation in 2015/16.
    Dave Challinor’s Coasters achieved their highest position in English football last season – and begin next term in the National League for the first time in their 29-year history.
    Maidenhead United and Ebbsfleet United make the step up from National League South after succeeding as champions and play-off winners respectively.
    The Magpies secured the title after a 3-0 victory over Margate on the final day of the season, and make their first appearance in non-league’s top tier.
    Dover Athletic remains the Blues furthest trip of the season – with Wrexham and Tranmere both the closest for Jon McCarthy’s men.
    A trip down to the English Rivera to face Torquay United is without question one of the longest journeys the Blues face – with an 9-hour round trip on the cards – and another visit to Kent to face Maidstone United also clocks up over 500 miles.
    Here are the distances to all our opponents next season:
    271 miles – Dover Atheltic (Crabble)
    251 miles – Maidstone United  (Gallagher Stadium)
    250 miles – Torquay United (Plainmoor)
    235 miles – Bromley (Hayes Lane)
    221 miles – Ebbsfleet United (Stonebridge Road)
    218 miles – Sutton United (Gander Green Lane)
    217 miles – Eastleigh (Ten Acres)
    216 miles – Dagenham and Redbridge (Victoria Road)
    215 miles – Aldershot Town (Recreation Ground)
    211 miles – Leyton Orient (Brisbane Road)
    205 miles – Woking FC (Kingfield Stadium)
    193 miles – Gateshead FC (Gateshead International)
    182 miles – Boreham Wood (Meadow Park)
    182 miles – Maidenhead United (York Road
    170 miles – Hartlepool United (Victoria Park)
    121 miles – Barrow AFC (Holker Street)
    94 miles – Guiseley AFC (Nethermoor Park)
    94 miles – Solihull Moors (Damson Park)
    79 miles – FC Halifax Town (The Shay)
    67 miles – AFC Fylde (Mill Farm)
    39 miles – Macclesfield Town (Moss Rose)
    18 miles – Tranmere Rovers (Prenton Park)
    13 miles – Wrexham AFC (Racecourse Ground)